Saturday, December 5, 2015

The Raging Debate on Gun Control in the U.S.

I've been gone quite some time, and during that time there were so many topics I wanted to write about, but life happens! So I'm just going to jump in with two feet once more and give you my thoughts on the raging debate of Gun Control in the U.S.

The U.S. seems to erupt in a raging debate over gun control and gun violence in the U.S every time there is any kind of shooting that can further agendas.  The republican party and the democratic party seem to lock themselves on opposite sides of this debate every time there is a mass shooting or any shooting for that matter.  I debated at length researching all the statistical data, and compiling facts for this blog, but it seems no one is interested in those facts, and statistics can be skewed in either direction, so I won't waste my time.

In light of the most recent event out in California where two terrorist engaged in a mass shooting Obama calls our Gun Laws insane.  The fact that he thinks he knows better then the founding fathers who gave us the right to have arms is disconcerting to me.  Yet, this post isn't about him.  Many flock to support him saying we need stricter gun laws, calling for a ban on guns, or proposing other more extreme solutions.  The Republicans on the other hand get slammed for offering prayers and are slammed for for not acting on these stricter gun law proposals with people trying to make them accountable for the actions of two terrorist (way to hold the people who perpetrated the crime accountable).  Gun advocates argue that some of the states with the strictest gun laws have the highest crime rate with them, and further argue that stricter gun laws are not the answer.

Here is what it comes down to.  We have a constitutional right to have arms, we have had that right since this county was named.  I think some of the opposition from both sides comes from massive misunderstanding and a stubborn refusal to try and see either side.  I think some of the opposition from both sides comes from ignorance and I think a great deal of of opposition comes from fear.

Fear being one of our greatest enemies no matter what side of the fence you are on.  Anti-gun supporters are often afraid of guns, and it seems afraid of almost everything else, they view stricter gun control as a way for the to control the big bad scary world out there.  I think the down side of this mentality is that when you seek ultimate control you loss control completely.  These decision have consequences that reach far beyond the short sight of fear and ignorance. You call for stricter gun control for the law abiding citizens and expect the criminals will turn in their illegal guns?  OR did you figure oh, well, at least if the law abiding citizens don't have guns only the police and criminals will have guns, what could possibly go wrong there?  It just doesn't follow logic.  Perhaps you have this misguided stereotypical image in your head of what a gun owner looks like. Not sure, take a look at the  below.

If this first row is what you think a law abiding gun owner looks like, you are misinformed, misguided and judging people based on stereotypes.


If this second row is what you think a law abiding gun owner looks like, congratulations, this is more likely the case.  If you do not, you are part of a bigger problem.


Now that we have addressed one side of the fence lets look at the other side of the fence.  Avid gun supporters often come across as zealots of a different kind.  I can't say that I blame the average law abiding gun supporter for being upset at the stereotypes and misunderstanding in society. However, their approach often hurts them.  They believe they are good and responsible people and so they apply their logic across the board.  They often have knee jerk reactions to the media and press as the war on guns rages with every single report of mass shootings, while many of the preventative incidents are swept under the rug to further political movement.  I have come across stories only because I seek them out, were a law abiding gun owner has acted in favor of the masses. These stores are found only if I search for them, and even if gun advocates share these stories they don't get the air time the more negative consequences do.  Most of these avid gun owners believe that a well armed society is a safer society, this can be difficult to digest for people who are afraid of guns.  Most avid gun owners engage in regular training, and take their ownership very seriously, but the public doesn't seem to get that message. Instead criminal activity is tied to gun ownership in the media providing a skewed perception of what a true law abiding gun owner is and giving the illusion that stricter gun laws will somehow cut down on the level of crime that is being committed. I can assure you this is only an illusion.

All in all both sides lock themselves in their positions, anti gun advocates spewing out statistics supporting their cause that are skewed in their favor. Avid pro gun owners countering with statistics that support their cause.  Both sides seeking to protect the country in their own ways.  The anti gun owner seeks to protect by taking rights away, and pro gun owners seek to educate and encourage more people to their side.

My Bottom Line.  Stricter gun control laws in general is not the answer.  California has some of the more strict gun laws and tragedy still struck, as an aside, the guns used in the California mass shootings were illegal in that state.  If people can't kill you with guns they will find another way if they are determined.   Criminals don't care about laws and neither do terrorist. Disarming law abiding citizens only serves to hurt the country as a whole by providing even more potential targets for those that wish to do them harm. An informed, trained and responsible body of gun owner can and does serve as a powerful defense and deterrent against criminal activity and terrorist attacks. Need an example?  If you were a criminal or terrorist would you target the city where almost everyone owned a gun, or the one where almost no one owns a gun?

Concessions (and I usually don't have these but I am trying to be flexible) - I am willing to hear SPECIFICALLY what stricter gun control laws are being considered, for example a strict policy on foreign citizens (given our particular fight on terrorism) is something I would consider. Changes to gun policy regarding mental health are something I would consider.



Monday, November 16, 2015

Rantings from bedrest

I'm going to say a few things.  Why? Because I have freedom of speech, because I am bored on account of being so damn sick I can't do much and because I just don't care if I offend someone based on an opinion that I hold because they are too narrow minded to accept that other people can have contrary opinions, and dare I say STILL GET ALONG.

Now, in case I die from this illness, let me solve all of the worlds problems.  (if you don't know that was a joke, you really don't know me or possibly need to get out more.)

Extremists are part of the problem when they are so fixated on the extreme view they have that they loose sight of reality and lack the ability empathize or show compassion for anyone who does not follow their line of thinking.  We all have things we may be a little extreme about but when you start shoving it on everyone else you are part of the problem.  Unless you are me being extreme about not being extreme than it is totally acceptable. (again sarcasm)

People that want to kill people will do it any way they can, gun, knife or crowbar it makes no difference, they kill people because in their mind that works for them, society says no, you can't do that we have all agreed as a society that it is wrong to kill people outside of our set parameters.  We have agreed that you can kill someone when in service to protect such as our military and police and citizens have the right to defend themselves if they believe their life is in danger, although you better hope they are not of a different race because nowadays we also will assume you are a racist.  (I wish I was kidding but black or white each side seems to love to throw those words around and try to keep people separated) We also want to be mindful when stopping intruders in our home because they can sue us if they get hurt in our home trying to rob or kill us.  Here is the deal people, a well armed society does not automatically mean it is more or less dangerous, that is up to the people who are armed.  In short, what are your intentions.  If you are uncomfortable with guns perhaps you need a gun safety course. Flip side there are some bad people out there that get guns legally and illegally, trying to cut down on that should not infringe on the good person who has them.  Try to keep up here I know it's hard. If you are that worried about increase the education given to people, it's really all about the education.

Terrorist are extremist, they see their way as the only way, and honestly I don't think I have heard of a terrorist that wasn't somehow connected to religion.  More people have been murdered in the name of religion than anything else combined. So how about you have your beliefs and I have my beliefs and we respect each other enough to have a healthy discussion but don't try to convert each other. You understand that some of the most revered ancient structures were around hundreds of years before many of the main religions that do all of the converting and fighting, you get that there were oral traditions (many of them) that were passed down generation to generation to be wiped out by people who thought theirs would being more order.  You realize entire populations were decimated in the name of some of the "Christian" religions, valuable prehistory lost, and ancestry blurred (on account of the raping) but by all means lets continue to throw fits about cups, and who has more holidays and why does this one do that.


Back to the Terrorist attacks, here is the deal, people all upset that I changed my profile picture to support the French, and why didn't we do this for the other countries.  Well perhaps I didn't know about the other countries because I was absorbed in my own life that I simply missed the 5 seconds the news might have dedicated to it.  Perhaps it is because France is one of the longest running allies to the united states, Maybe it is because they showed us support when we were attacked.  But really, it's because I saw the footage as it was available and it broke my heart, just as the footage for every other country breaks my heart, because I empathize.  I feel more deeply that many of you would imagine, unless you have seen me at the movies.

More on terrorism, it sucks, and no one wants to deal with it.  It's like a giant elephant in the room and everyone has their extremes.  From no don't hurt any innocent people to Kill them all.  You are both wrong.  The fact is innocent people are dying, and the longer we allow terrorist to operate the more innocent lives will be lost.  They don't operate like you and me, nothing is off limits, in fact the things that you would put off limits are their targets, such as schools, clubs social settings.  So innocent people are dying and more will die if we don't act appropriately, but killing everyone that is extreme as well. No specific targeted attacks on known areas or bases of terrorist activities are what I would call for and unfortunately even then some innocent lives will be lost, but I believe them to be less than if we allow more attacks. The world could organize these attacks united against these hateful people and attack all known and verified terrorist establishments in concert.  A show of force is necessary when they attack as they have.   Yes, yes I know you can not fight hate with hate, the only thing that will smite the darkness is light, and the only thing that will eradicate hate is love, but these are not rational people, and while you are trying to show them love they are killing innocent children and families, so in this case alone I must disagree. However, I must say I don't have spys everywhere so much of my information comes from the news.

By the way I now get my news from 15 different sources so I can try to use all the different stories to draw my own conclusions because the media isn't about the truth anymore.  Its sad to see how far journalism has fallen but it has fallen indeed.  Satirical magazine seem to enlighten me more than the average news station.  Perhaps if I watch the left news channels and the right news channels I can find the truth in the middle.

Offended yet?  I'd be surprised if you were not considering the majority of this country seems to want to sue everyone for everything, everyone wants a free ride, everything is offensive and no one has the work ethic needed to further develop our country. That was a blanket statement and rather unfair.  I do know some fabulous people with great work ethic, but I see far more people not putting in the work.  I know people who are not easily offended and I love them because we can speak candidly and if someone gets to that point we respectfully agree to disagree and it is over.  I wish that were the majority but it is not, I know far more people that I feel I am walking on eggshells around because you never know what will offend their sensibilities and worse yet 9 times out of 10 they won't even tell you! They sulk like a child and treat you poorly leaving you to figure it out for yourself.  At least when I sulk like a child you know why!

Alright, it might be time for me to call it quits as I am certain I am now on several watch lists and have sufficiently irritated the 10 people that still pop in to see if I have anything new (sorry about the dry spell life was just too crazy for a bit). Here is the bottom line.  We need to educate people not spread propaganda. If you don't like something okay, just don't tell someone else they can't like it or have it.  Gun control aimed at keeping guns away from criminals and such is fine, gun control aimed at keeping guns away from law abiding citizens is not.  Just because someone has a gun it does not mean they are a bad person, unless they have a ski mask and are not skiing then they really might be, or they could be desperate, either is pretty dangerous. Religion is fine and good if you are not killing people over it or insisting on badgering other to your way.  Offensive material is really REALLY subjective.  I don't find myself getting all up in arms over much and even if I do become impassioned I respect that others can have their opinion (however wrong that may be) Opinions are not facts! They are not by their nature right or wrong, in fact they are more a feeling. I know, I know it's going to take you a moment to process that.  Opinions are not facts. Terrorism sucks, we hate it, we would like to stop it, you do not stop it by killing everyone indiscriminate in fact I am pretty sure that I read somewhere that hundreds of thousands of Muslims have been killed by ISIS, sort of reminds me of the Nazis...you had to have drawn that parallel by now. Strategic strikes to their forces in concert around the world would be a very nice start...in my OPINION. I don't think we can sit back and love them in this case.  I wish we could but they are a little crazy in the coconut. We (Americans) don't only care about France and their attack (well I am sure some Americans do) I know quite a few that were just unaware of the others or had other reasons for supporting France, it doesn't mean we don't care about the other. Accepting Refugees, I'm torn I am because my nature is to want to help everyone, but in this case unless we can vet everyone of these people before they come here I don't see this as a good idea at this time.  It sucks, and I don't like to say something like that but we are a hot mess over here.  We are hating on each other, we have homeless, racial tensions are ridiculous, I think you should have your own house in order before you invite someone else to come live with you. (Oh! That makes my personal life make more sense HA)

At the end of the day just try to be nice, respectful, develop a good work ethic, hold yourself and others accountable, and when in doubt educate.

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Changing Your Perception Positively

I was having a chat today with a fellow human about perception, assumptions and educated guesses as it pertains to our positive thinking.  After talking it through he suggested I add part of our discussion to the book I am writing, I thought I ought to share it with you, rather than make you wait for the book.  

Many a problems arise when we make assumptions, educated guesses, or draw conclusions.  Often it is our desire to make sense of things, to know what the other person is thinking, to know what will happen, that brings us the most stress.  Even more often our tendency to assume and guess at the negative tends to outweigh that of the positive.  

You may know by now, I am a huge fan of the Four Agreements, a book by Miguel Ruiz, and I am also a fan of the law of attraction.  These principles can and will help you change into a more positive frame of mind, and one of those principle, one of those agreements if you will, is "Don't Make Assumptions."

Why don't you want to make assumptions, well aside from the part where they are almost always wrong, they are often always negative.  So let's just say for the sake of argument that you can't quit making assumptions cold turkey, you have been doing it all your life, it's a part of you, heck maybe you even enjoy it.  But if you don't enjoy it perhaps I can give you some inspiration to change your perception to a more positive one.  Well, then lets work on making those assumptions a bit less negative shall we.

Here is one for the ladies, I have know a great many women that have gone through a cycle, this cycle starts with "prince charming" that society shows us in fairy tales, inevitably at some point they cycle out of that into an ultra independence, during this stage, watch out! They don't want anyone doing anything for them, they can open their own door, carry their own groceries, and any attempt to help is met with a grumbling glare that says "How dare you suggest I need your help" or "How dare you demean me." Now hopefully the carnage was minimal from that stage and we move into the respect stage.  This is where I hope most men and women reside, the place where they respect themselves and others. This is the best place to be, particularly if we want to change our way of thinking and reject the negative assumptions we have made.

I know many women who think a guy opening a car door is wonderful, and I know many women who think that it is terrible and demeaning, or diminishing that woman's worth.  Well, either woman would be wrong, because it is your perception, and that resonates within you. What I can tell you is that choosing to believe a negative over a positive will result in you feeling angry, stressed, or any other number of negative emotions, that frankly you don't need, and should not encourage.  So what can you do, you can change your perception.  First, consider this, the many holding the door, might very well hold it for a man as well as a woman.  Isn't that a more pleasant thought?  Second, the man may be holding the door open for you because he respects you, not because he thinks you are worth less.  Third, if you assume you will not get the truth, you will create a false truth in your mind that does nothing but feed the negative, if it eats at you, just ask. "Excuse me sir, why did you hold the door open for me?"  He might say because he wanted to be nice, or because he always holds the door, or because you look like his former wife who passed and he always got the door for her, or he could say he did it for any number of reasons, some of which you might not like, or understand, but try...try to understand. Now, I have magic man by Heart in my head. 

So, now what if the answer or reason is unacceptable to you, well try to understand it.  Don't let it turn you rotten or negative. People are living their lives, and their lives are unique to them, no one goes through exactly the same situations in their lives, we each have our very own story, and while others may be similar no one is the same.  We are like snowflakes, except we don't melt on your tongue....or do we....I'm kidding!  So take a moment and think about the negative assumptions you make. 

Someone does not answer you right away, you text or called and they did not reply, where does your mind go?  I've had people (who clearly don't know my phone dies at least once a day) get very upset or text me repeatedly asking if I were mad at them, if they offended me, or if I was otherwise upset. First, I often point out it takes a lot to offend me, second I tell them my phone died or that I was working and didn't get it until later.  But look at what happened these people got themselves all stressed (to whatever degree) about a story they made up in their head that really had no foundation in reality.  They made assumptions about me, I'm not immune to it either, I have had my moments of crazy assumptions. To counter them, take a moment when you feel the crazies coming on, and make an effort not to assume anything, make an effort to be okay with not knowing for just a little while, and make an effort to be understanding.

Guys, I don't want you to feel left out.  Everything above applies to you, but I would like to add a little note to you here.  I have asked my ladies not to make an assumption as to your motives, now I ask you not to make assumptions based on a woman's reaction.  You might go to open a car door and she might have an issue, don't just assume she is a feminazi, try to be understanding.  You don't know her story.  If a girl keeps you on the line longer than you like without giving as much as you like, don't assume she is a prude, a tease, or a user try to be understanding, she may have had some abuse and it takes her longer to feel safe, she may have had a traditional family, overly religious family, or maybe what seems normal to you may not be normal to her.  Likewise if she decides a sleep over is in order the first night, don't shame her, degrade, her or call her names, she chose to share herself with you, be grateful you had someone to share some moments with.  

Be grateful, be understanding, make less assumptions.  When you catch yourself making negative assumptions counterattack with positive assumptions, if you have to counter them with fairy tale positive assumptions, make up a good outrageous story that is so outlandish it immediately makes the negative disappear and probably makes you smile.  You are one step closer to changing your positively changing your perception!



Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Trust

Trust
by Michol Mae

So you lied, just like they all do,
they all lie for different reasons,
but the reasons are all selfish,
still, they want you to believe them.

They lie and say it's to protect you.
they don't want you to be hurt,
but I've known this as a child,
they always put themselves first.

I haven't had the pleasure,
to know an honest man,
instead I've known the bad ones,
and a few who raised their hands.

I've been beaten, dragged, and left,
and yet here I still stand,
because I'm stronger than your lies,
let me show my poker hand

I'm tired of being lied too,
because I believe in being good,
I'm sick of being called naive,
because I expect you to act like you should.

Maybe I have daddy issues,
they lied, and abandoned us both,
they sure didn't set a good example,
my mother, and I left broken souls.

So you go tell yourself your story,
try to convince yourself and then me,
tell the whole world your lies,
but I'm done trusting in things I can't see.

The saddest thing of all,
is that you took away that trust,
you took it with all your lies,
without trust I don't know if I can love.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Changing Vacations Plans and Growing Pains

Recently, I've been thinking a lot about all of the changes to my vacation plans, as well as HOW I vacation. The last few years I run my vacations like I have been running my life, I try desperately to stuff as much in as possible so that I can see everyone that I miss.  Now I have several families and a few friends that I love to see, but they are everywhere, family in New Orleans, friends in Florida, Family in Georgia, Friends in So. Carolina and Family and Friends in Virginia and that is a lot of ground to cover.

Yet, this most recent plan has lead to some very careful consideration, not only on how I vacation, but also on rather or not I am engaging in a one-sided relationship, as well as what that might or might not mean.  I mean does it matter if my relationship with my friends and family is sided, if I love them then I should not expect that in return.  Right? That is what love is about isn't it? Well, let's work through this, take a trip through a small portion of my world.

I planned my vacation about 6 months ago, when I took my new job I made sure to get approval for my vacation in July, and although I told some of my family that the vacation was still approved.  As it got closer to vacation my family in New Orleans had some other things going on, and New Orleans itself had a festival so it lead to a change in our plans, I thought perhaps we could go to Myrtle Beach first instead of second but it was too short notice to book plans there, so we changed our plans to Florida.

All of this last minute changing was stressing me out, how was I going to fit everything in, now I have an extra place I have to stay, considerably longer than expected, and I still have all of these other places I have to fit in if I am going to see everyone.  So, I was chatting with a friend about my concerns and she looked at me for a moment and then shared with me some experiences that she had.  She told she used to do the same thing, she would run around, trying to see everyone whenever she had vacation and subsequently she wasn't really relaxing.  Then she said she realized something, she was going down to Virginia to visit her family and they were never coming to visit her.  I stifled my protest " But, we live in New York".  She continued to explain her solution and the results.  So the next time she went down near her family she would tell them where she would be and let them come to her. Her result was that some family didn't come to her even when she was near by, and others came to see her everytime.  She started to realize that it is a two way street, and she deserved the piece of mind that a vacation can bring.

Her advice to me was not to run around everywhere, tell them where you will be and let them come to you. I protested "But I will be a few hours away" her reply "It's closer to them than you are right now" and her question to me "Have any of them come to visit you here" I said out of everyone that I run to visit only 2 or 3 have made the trip or suggested a trip or suggested I meet them halfway.   She said I deserved a vacation, a real vacation where I am not running around everywhere.

So there it was, how many people in my family have come to visit, how many even replied to my message that I would be in the area?  My grandpa & nana replied to me, who will be in Georgia, I will stop in to see and be sure to visit, but I do honestly believe they would come to me in Florida or So. Carolina, because they have come to me here in New York.   My friends Sam (in so.Carolina) and Joyce (Florida) moved from New York and so they also come back to visit, but again I believe they would come to me in So. Caroline and Florida respectively.  My family in New Orleans has things going on, and it is probably too far for them to drive to Florida or So.Carolina to visit, so I expect that perhaps we will plan a separate trip at another time.

The more I thought about this older and wiser woman's advice the more I realized, I have always yearned for my families love, sometimes to an unhealthy degree, certainly they are not sitting around saying I hope Michol Mae is proud of me or I hope Michol Mae loves me, yet I would sit and ponder my family and friends. I would strive for my dad's approval.  But here it is folks, I am not a child anymore, I have looked many of my issues in the eye and moved on from them.  My abandonment and orphan related issues are more difficult but not impossible to move on from.  Lots of kids grow up without a mom and a dad, lots of kids get shipped from one place to another, from one family to another, and lots of kids have families that let them go, shun them, forget them, or have fair weather relationships with them, so really I could have it a lot worse.

I always wanted to move back home to Virginia and it was often my first or second choice for vacation, for years upon years all I wanted was to move back, but I had low paying jobs working my way through college and every time I tried to move some major expense would come up and I would be too poor to move or even vacation.  I had no place down there to move to while I got on my feet and the result was some in my family stopped believing I ever would move, in fact my youngest sister said she didn't believe it would ever happen.  Now, she is right. I love Virginia, I do, but that is the child in me longing for the life I had before everything fell apart.  I still do not always like New York, and one day when I do escape this state it will be to move someplace I love, someplace without the pain and baggage that comes with Virginia.  So why would I vacation there?  I think my friends Paula and Angie would come visit me in So. Carolina, and if my family wants to see me I'm not too far away.

Ultimately, all of this thinking and reshuffling and changing of plans got so overwhelming that I said, "I just want to go on vacation! A real vacation, where I don't have to run from place to place and worry about everything, I want to relax!"  And so it happened I am booked in Orlando Florida for a week and going to Myrtle Beach for a week and we will stop and see grandpa and nana on the way down and up.  I will let all my family and friends in the area know where I am, in case they want to visit.  I am who I am and I love my family and friends for who they are, but their validation and approval of me, even their love for me is no longer something I can continue to vie for and lead a healthy and positive life.

~Namaste


Wednesday, March 19, 2014

College Education - Inmates and Citizens

You have all probably heard about Governor Cuomo's new plan to give inmates a college degree for free, the result was outrage from some and full support from others.  It seems at times people are split on two sides of an invisible fence that does not allow for compromise or alternate solutions. So let me attempt to look at this from all aspects.

My first reaction to this plan to spend a potential $137 billion on giving inmates free college education was complete outrage.  I worked hard, went to college and I am am now tens of thousands in debt, to make matters worse I didn't find a job that could pay remotely what I needed to support my family and pay back all of these loans, I have to deal with ridiculous interest rates, harassing phone calls and all the stress that comes along with it.  So, I hear this proposal to give inmates FREE college education, and yes I was outraged!  You are going to give a criminal, who made bad decisions and committed crimes a free education while I and my fellow students struggle.  You are going to give a criminal who made bad decisions and committed crimes a potential $137 billion while our schools and libraries are underfunded and constantly cut, yes I was outraged.  Yet, let's take a look at all sides of this, if you stick with me, I might have some alternate suggestions worth looking at.  I am still outraged, I still have much more to say about it all in my closing.

One of the few articles I have found in favor of Cuomo's new plan was a Forbes Opinion piece, I read through it, considered the points and then noticed it was written by an Academic Coordinator in partnership with Hudson Link for Higher Education in Prison, hardly an unbiased opinion, but we will consider her point nonetheless.

Emily Patka of Sienna College is a supporter of Cuomo's plan, she says prisons should not be used only as a tool of punishment but of rehab.  She also chastises society for being "stuck in revenge mode" and encourages us to set aside the possible "moral repercussions" of having that mindset.  She also lets us know that not every inmate will be accepted into the program, in fact she says each person is "thoroughly vetted through a rigorous application process to determine inmates who are academically talented and prepared for college."  To support her point she let's us know that 95 percent of those currently incarcerated will be released in the future, if they return to prison the state expects to shell out $60 thousand a year, and Cuomo's plan would translate to $5 thousand a year.  She furthers her point by letting us know her partner Hudson Link for Higher Education in Prison has a less than 1 percent recidivism rate for 168 graduates. (Forbes Opinion Article)

A NYTimes article claims that Nationwide as many as half of all inmates released end up back in prison within three years.  The article attempts to explain why this might be, citing reliable and cost-effective education behind bars as the main reason, and lets us know that nearly 40 percent of prisoners do not have a high school diploma.  Another point they make is the decision in 1994 to deny federal Pell grants to people in prison (who received only 1 percent of the Pell grants) dropping prison degree programs from 350 to about 12.  This same article claims there is a direct correlation between the higher rates of employment for those who receive an education.    

Want more statistics on the benefits of inmate education check out https://www.bja.gov/Publications/RAND_Correctional-Education-Meta-Analysis.pdf.  This link gives you all the research on how educational programs substantially reduced the risk of returning to the system within three years.

Finding opposing views of the Governor's move was not difficult, so I am only citing two that I have come across.  The Democrat & Chronicle has a plethora of quotes from officials criticizing the plan.


  • Sen. Greg Ball of Putnam County says "In a world of finite resources, where we are struggling to find funding for education for our kids, the last thing New York state should be funding is college tuition for convicts"
  • Assemblyman James Skoufis of Orange county says "Our students face out-of-control costs and crushing debt if they decide to pursue a degree — hardworking families need help going to college, not prison inmates"
  • Sen. Mark Grisanti says "I support rehabilitation and reduced recidivism, but not on the taxpayer's dime when so many individuals and families in New York are struggling to meet the ever-rising costs of higher education"
  • Assemblyman James Tedisco says “Rewarding criminal behavior with free college education reinforces their actions and makes them smarter criminals, ... This is definitely ‘Breaking Bad’ by potentially turning a bunch of Jesse Pinkmans into Walter Whites – all on the taxpayer’s dime.” (Inside Higher Ed) ***Now I have to watch this show to get the reference!

In the same  Democrat & Chronicle article we learn NY actually has a 3% lower recidivism rate than the nationwide average according to the a 2011 report, and New York has quite a few flourishing (since the decision in 1994 to end tuition assistance in prisons) privately funded programs to provide college education to prisoners.  Not to mention changes in laws have lead to a fall from 72,600 in 1999 to about 54,200 and the closing of nine prisons. 

Alternative Solutions:
  • Ball said he has proposed legislation that would establish a state income-tax deduction on student loan payments.
  • Colleges like Cornell, and Cayuga Community College have a prison education program they fund with a grant, why isn't this the standard. 
  • A common Consensus is that Education in prison give prisoners jobs when they are out preventing them from ending up back in - So offer a job program, or offer vocational training, but do so on grants.  
  • Find committees and foundations willing to work towards securing funds and grants for programs for inmates, so as not to use public funds. 
  • Put public funding back to the schools and libraries, make it possible for everyone to attend college  without incurring outrageous cost. 
Let me argue a point here for a moment, the prison system is supposed to be punishment of course, but also reform, it is NOT supposed to be a reward, offering a FREE college education would be a reward, and one that you are not offering to many students that have incurred student loans so steep they can't breathe when they think of it, but they worked hard sometimes working a multitude of jobs and raising a family so that they could get that degree complete with it's debt and now you want me to take pity on prisoners who made the bad decisions and did the bad things.  I am a compassionate person, I truly believe they should receive an education if they want one, but NOT before you address the people in this world who have worked hard and find themselves struggling because the jobs are not there or don't pay enough to pay back the high interest rates of student loans.  Further, I believe we should be working towards educating people BEFORE they are in the prison system and not AFTER they are in, and if you are so concerned about them ending up in prison an alternative might be to give them a college education scholarship of some kind upon their release.  
So there you have both sides of the fence and a few, although not a completely comprehensive list, alternative solutions.  However, the real issue, the root of the issue has not been addressed.  I find it astounding that American's seem to blithely ignore the root of issues, every system is covered in band aids until one day all of those band aids leak so badly the entire system starts to feel it, the entire system starts to break down.  The root of the issue here, is how can we prevent people from committing the crimes that put them in jail, the root of the issue is how do we extend education to everyone BEFORE they choose this deteriorating life.  The answer to that is very simple and in fact in The Corruption-of-our-Education-System.html, the answer is educating, and facilitating pride in education.  We as a society need to stand up united under the goal of becoming a smarter more educated nation.  There are other countries that do not have the same massive gaps based on socioeconomics, so let's stop trying to blame people, or coddle people.  Let's make sure our society says education is important! Let's ingrain it in every young person, let's ensure that our future is one in the top percentile because we banded together and fostered a sense that learning is the best thing you can do for yourself.  Learn a trade, learn a hobby, learn whatever you are interested but for the love of this country LEARN SOMETHING.  

Let's stop putting band aids on our society, lets stand up and make a difference, let's make America great once again, innovative once again.  It starts with you, the person reading this right now, don't wait for someone else, you can foster this love of learning, it does not matter how poor you are libraries are free! Let's raise our voices, and be heard, put funding into our schools and libraries, reduce interest rates for college students or better yet give them the funding to get their degree and not be mired in debt. 

Go read a book, visit your favorite library and write your legislators!

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

The Corruption of our Education System

Education, the most fundamentally important aspect of progressive life.  We must learn to survive and advance.  If you can learn you can do anything. That's right anything can be done with the drive and desire to learn and make it so.  Countries all around the world are comparing themselves to each other, it's a global competition.  Whomever has the smartest, most educated people will drive the world into the future.


So, who will be driving us into the future?  Perhaps it will be Shanghai since they scored highest on Program for International Student Assessment (PISA), which was administered last fall 2012.  In fact, according to the same source, American scored below the international average in math and slightly below average in science and roughly average in reading, compared against dozens of other countries (Although in a 1,000 point system no country scored higher than 613. (NBC)

What does this say about the importance we put on education?  What does this say about our attitude towards education?  What does it say about out drive? It looks pretty bleak to me folks.

According to another article "Black and Hispanic adults in the United States are three to four times more likely to have poor skills than white adults, according to an OECD analysis. About 35 percent of black adults and 43 percent of Hispanic adults score low in literacy, compared to 10 percent of white adults. In numeracy, 59 percent of black adults and 56 percent of Hispanic adults score low, compared to 19 percent of white adults." However, "The report found that socioeconomic background has a stronger impact on proficiency levels in the U.S. than in other countries. The association is weaker among 16- to 20-year-olds, which could reflect more equity in the education system or the delayed impact of parents’ education." (Inside Higher Ed)    

I acknowledge that there could be quite a few different reasons for socioeconomic backgrounds to have a lower impact on proficiency levels in countries other than the U.S.  Regardless of the reasons, I think we can take one thing away from this, socioeconomic factors do not need to have a strong impact on proficiency levels.  So let's stop trying to play the poverty card.

What is different in other countries, how do they progress while we continue to fall behind.  In Shanghai
"Beginning in 1985, in an attempt to move away from the high-pressure exam system and increase the quality of education, Shanghai began to allow students to take elective courses, which led to new textbooks and materials. Implemented in 2008, a renewed effort to encourage student learning rather than accumulation of knowledge, led to eight curricular “learning domains”:
  • language and literature
  • mathematics
  • natural science
  • social sciences
  • technology
  • arts
  • physical education
  • practicum
Schools were then encouraged to create their own curriculum and outside groups such as museums became partners in education. Part of the new curriculum includes an emphasis on inquiry-based education. Students independently explore research topics of interest to themselves in order to promote social wellbeing, creative and critical thinking, and again, learning to learn.
To support the new education changes, certification processes for teachers were implemented. Teacher professional development requirements also increased – teachers in Shanghai must now complete 240 hours of professional development in five years. An online database provides help with design and implementation of curriculum, research papers, and best practice examples. Teachers are now encouraged to allow time for student activities in classrooms rather relying solely on presentations."  (http://asiasociety.org/education/learning-world/shanghai-worlds-best-school-system)
Interesting, so you mean they don't have a "common core" they encourage creative and critical thinking, learning to learn, and facilitate a societal and family pressure to do well academically? Perhaps they have figured out that the real key is to motivate young people at a young age, the key is to support education and encourage it, the key is to foster a love of learning, the key is to come together as a society and present a united message that education is important.  
Today in America there are a lot of excuses, socioeconomic, political propaganda, budget constraints, declining family structures, and the list goes on.  Let's not forget the deprecation of competition, everyone is a winner, so why bother trying, you know you will get the prize.  Parents are not emphasizing education, content to let the TV or video games occupy their child so they can earn a living or worse yet because they have no desire to truly parent their kid.  You are not your child's friend, you are their parent and hopefully a good role model, turn off the TV from time to time and have them read a book!  
Let's stop making excuses, it does not matter how poor you are, it does not matter if you are in a broken home, nothing should stop you from learning.   What does matter is that we as a society start to say Education is important, let's make our schools and libraries our priority.  Let's make a commitment to be the best of the best again.  
"One interesting strategy employed by Shanghai to improve weak schools is the commissioned education program. Under this scheme, top performing schools are assigned a weak school to administer. The “good” school will send a team of teachers and a principal to lead the school and improve it. This has been happening within the city but also as a type of exchange program with poor rural schools. Such a system assists the poor schools and benefits Shanghai schools by allowing them to promote teachers and administrators."

Let's start looking at what those in the top ranking of education are doing, learn from that and move forward.  Let's give our kids incentive to go to school, and then continue with school to vocational schools or colleges, and let's be sure they(or their parents) won't have to incur massive amounts of debt to do so!
It all starts when we are children, but you are never too old to learn.  Yet, the cost of continuing education is critical as well, a parent who wants an education so they can pass that on to their kids shouldn't have to go knee deep in debt, so we can not continue to look at a segregated education system that slices higher education into a different place.  I started writing this article because I was outraged over my student loans, which cost a fortune and only landed me a job for a fraction of what I owe, but upon searching out sources this article formed, more on our college education and student loans next!

Now that you are thinking, I take my leave to catch some shut eye, read a book!