I'm going to say a few things. Why? Because I have freedom of speech, because I am bored on account of being so damn sick I can't do much and because I just don't care if I offend someone based on an opinion that I hold because they are too narrow minded to accept that other people can have contrary opinions, and dare I say STILL GET ALONG.
Now, in case I die from this illness, let me solve all of the worlds problems. (if you don't know that was a joke, you really don't know me or possibly need to get out more.)
Extremists are part of the problem when they are so fixated on the extreme view they have that they loose sight of reality and lack the ability empathize or show compassion for anyone who does not follow their line of thinking. We all have things we may be a little extreme about but when you start shoving it on everyone else you are part of the problem. Unless you are me being extreme about not being extreme than it is totally acceptable. (again sarcasm)
People that want to kill people will do it any way they can, gun, knife or crowbar it makes no difference, they kill people because in their mind that works for them, society says no, you can't do that we have all agreed as a society that it is wrong to kill people outside of our set parameters. We have agreed that you can kill someone when in service to protect such as our military and police and citizens have the right to defend themselves if they believe their life is in danger, although you better hope they are not of a different race because nowadays we also will assume you are a racist. (I wish I was kidding but black or white each side seems to love to throw those words around and try to keep people separated) We also want to be mindful when stopping intruders in our home because they can sue us if they get hurt in our home trying to rob or kill us. Here is the deal people, a well armed society does not automatically mean it is more or less dangerous, that is up to the people who are armed. In short, what are your intentions. If you are uncomfortable with guns perhaps you need a gun safety course. Flip side there are some bad people out there that get guns legally and illegally, trying to cut down on that should not infringe on the good person who has them. Try to keep up here I know it's hard. If you are that worried about increase the education given to people, it's really all about the education.
Terrorist are extremist, they see their way as the only way, and honestly I don't think I have heard of a terrorist that wasn't somehow connected to religion. More people have been murdered in the name of religion than anything else combined. So how about you have your beliefs and I have my beliefs and we respect each other enough to have a healthy discussion but don't try to convert each other. You understand that some of the most revered ancient structures were around hundreds of years before many of the main religions that do all of the converting and fighting, you get that there were oral traditions (many of them) that were passed down generation to generation to be wiped out by people who thought theirs would being more order. You realize entire populations were decimated in the name of some of the "Christian" religions, valuable prehistory lost, and ancestry blurred (on account of the raping) but by all means lets continue to throw fits about cups, and who has more holidays and why does this one do that.
Back to the Terrorist attacks, here is the deal, people all upset that I changed my profile picture to support the French, and why didn't we do this for the other countries. Well perhaps I didn't know about the other countries because I was absorbed in my own life that I simply missed the 5 seconds the news might have dedicated to it. Perhaps it is because France is one of the longest running allies to the united states, Maybe it is because they showed us support when we were attacked. But really, it's because I saw the footage as it was available and it broke my heart, just as the footage for every other country breaks my heart, because I empathize. I feel more deeply that many of you would imagine, unless you have seen me at the movies.
More on terrorism, it sucks, and no one wants to deal with it. It's like a giant elephant in the room and everyone has their extremes. From no don't hurt any innocent people to Kill them all. You are both wrong. The fact is innocent people are dying, and the longer we allow terrorist to operate the more innocent lives will be lost. They don't operate like you and me, nothing is off limits, in fact the things that you would put off limits are their targets, such as schools, clubs social settings. So innocent people are dying and more will die if we don't act appropriately, but killing everyone that is extreme as well. No specific targeted attacks on known areas or bases of terrorist activities are what I would call for and unfortunately even then some innocent lives will be lost, but I believe them to be less than if we allow more attacks. The world could organize these attacks united against these hateful people and attack all known and verified terrorist establishments in concert. A show of force is necessary when they attack as they have. Yes, yes I know you can not fight hate with hate, the only thing that will smite the darkness is light, and the only thing that will eradicate hate is love, but these are not rational people, and while you are trying to show them love they are killing innocent children and families, so in this case alone I must disagree. However, I must say I don't have spys everywhere so much of my information comes from the news.
By the way I now get my news from 15 different sources so I can try to use all the different stories to draw my own conclusions because the media isn't about the truth anymore. Its sad to see how far journalism has fallen but it has fallen indeed. Satirical magazine seem to enlighten me more than the average news station. Perhaps if I watch the left news channels and the right news channels I can find the truth in the middle.
Offended yet? I'd be surprised if you were not considering the majority of this country seems to want to sue everyone for everything, everyone wants a free ride, everything is offensive and no one has the work ethic needed to further develop our country. That was a blanket statement and rather unfair. I do know some fabulous people with great work ethic, but I see far more people not putting in the work. I know people who are not easily offended and I love them because we can speak candidly and if someone gets to that point we respectfully agree to disagree and it is over. I wish that were the majority but it is not, I know far more people that I feel I am walking on eggshells around because you never know what will offend their sensibilities and worse yet 9 times out of 10 they won't even tell you! They sulk like a child and treat you poorly leaving you to figure it out for yourself. At least when I sulk like a child you know why!
Alright, it might be time for me to call it quits as I am certain I am now on several watch lists and have sufficiently irritated the 10 people that still pop in to see if I have anything new (sorry about the dry spell life was just too crazy for a bit). Here is the bottom line. We need to educate people not spread propaganda. If you don't like something okay, just don't tell someone else they can't like it or have it. Gun control aimed at keeping guns away from criminals and such is fine, gun control aimed at keeping guns away from law abiding citizens is not. Just because someone has a gun it does not mean they are a bad person, unless they have a ski mask and are not skiing then they really might be, or they could be desperate, either is pretty dangerous. Religion is fine and good if you are not killing people over it or insisting on badgering other to your way. Offensive material is really REALLY subjective. I don't find myself getting all up in arms over much and even if I do become impassioned I respect that others can have their opinion (however wrong that may be) Opinions are not facts! They are not by their nature right or wrong, in fact they are more a feeling. I know, I know it's going to take you a moment to process that. Opinions are not facts. Terrorism sucks, we hate it, we would like to stop it, you do not stop it by killing everyone indiscriminate in fact I am pretty sure that I read somewhere that hundreds of thousands of Muslims have been killed by ISIS, sort of reminds me of the Nazis...you had to have drawn that parallel by now. Strategic strikes to their forces in concert around the world would be a very nice start...in my OPINION. I don't think we can sit back and love them in this case. I wish we could but they are a little crazy in the coconut. We (Americans) don't only care about France and their attack (well I am sure some Americans do) I know quite a few that were just unaware of the others or had other reasons for supporting France, it doesn't mean we don't care about the other. Accepting Refugees, I'm torn I am because my nature is to want to help everyone, but in this case unless we can vet everyone of these people before they come here I don't see this as a good idea at this time. It sucks, and I don't like to say something like that but we are a hot mess over here. We are hating on each other, we have homeless, racial tensions are ridiculous, I think you should have your own house in order before you invite someone else to come live with you. (Oh! That makes my personal life make more sense HA)
At the end of the day just try to be nice, respectful, develop a good work ethic, hold yourself and others accountable, and when in doubt educate.